Classroom DIY

20160703_114739 copy

So exited to be moving to fifth grade!  I know there will be a lot that will be different, however there are a few things I make every year that should still be useful:

20160717_115141.jpg
This is what I use for students to order their lunch choice.  Each student has a magnet with his/her name on it and it starts on the circle pan in the morning.  As students arrive and enter the classroom, they move their magnet to their lunch choice.  (The A, B, C, Home are also magnets so that I can remove them if there are less lunch options for a day.)   It also doubles for attendance.  If a student’s magnet is left on the circle, I know they are absent.
20160717_115218
These are Popsicle sticks that will have the kids name on it.  They are two colors so that after picking one student, it can be turned upside-down and I will know which have been picked already.  This summer I made two:  one for morning meeting sharing and one the rest of the day.

I’ve also repainted a few chairs that I found at Goodwill to add to my new classroom.  And I have another one waiting in the garage that I just found last night!

One last thing!  Not a craft, but a great find from the Target Dollar Spot.

20160717_115207
I’m thinking I might use them to label book bins in my library?  Not sure yet, but I couldn’t pass them up!
2 thoughts on “Classroom DIY”

  1. Wow. You are one crafty teacher, and practical to boot! Cute ideas that lead to efficiency and equity in the classroom, too. Nice job.

    When I had my own classroom, my favorite thing was my wooden chair. I loved it. I really did think about taking it with me. Now that I see I could have painted it, I am even more sad!

Leave a Reply

