Writing is…

Image 3-9-16 at 7.58 PM
We are participating in the Classroom SOL.  This is a post by one of my students.  Although I didn’t publish it in order to protect the privacy of another student and his family, I am happy that he was able to put this experience into words.

Writing is healing.

It is a way to process thoughts and emotions.

For adults.

For children.

 

This challenge has allowed my students

To build writing stamina.

To share moments of their day.

To process their reactions to these moments.

To be heard.

 

This challenge has allowed me

To hear their thoughts.

To see what they find is important.

To learn more each of them.

To listen.

 

Writing is healing.

It is a way to process thoughts and emotions.

For adults.

For children.

Image 3-9-16 at 8.09 PM
Different student.  Expressing the power of writing in a few words.

 

8 thoughts on “Writing is…”

  1. Your poem really touches my heart! You are so right. With your simple, yet beautiful words I am reminded of the power writing has for our children. The writing examples you added really enhance your poem, as well. Thank you for sharing this!

  2. Yes, students need time to write, reflect, and process. Writing IS healing, and writing is a way to make sense of our experiences. Thank you for the post to remind us of the importance of writing in our daily lives.

  3. Writing is about healing. There are so many pieces that I have written that I would never ever share because they are far too personal, but they have most certainly helped me to sort some things out in my life.

Leave a comment