Oh PARCC…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_hAAHHHH!  A whole school PARCC practice test this afternoon.

AAHHHH!  A whole school PARCC practice test after several weeks of indoor recess.

AAHHHH!  A whole school PARCC practice test and two minutes in, one problem in, they are playing with the “tools” even though there is nothing to measure.

AAHHHH!  A whole school PARCC practice test and even I don’t understand what the questions are asking.

AAHHHH!  This was only a practice…the real thing is next week.

AAHHHH!  This was only a practice…the real thing will be spread over five days.

AAHHHH!  End of slice…

10 thoughts on “Oh PARCC…”

  1. I definitely felt your frustration in this piece. Have you been in touch with Tara Smith? Her kids are going through it right now. She might be a good person for you to commiserate with.

  2. I’m in Texas, the Common Core hold-out state. We have our own dreaded test, and I too wasted an entire instructional day benchmarking kiddos. Do all students take the PARCC test on the computer? I feel your pain, and I loved the simplicity of your blog. I too want to scream “AAAAHHH!” during these dreaded assessments.

  3. This too shall pass… one day! Education is a pendulum, swings back and forth, back and forth. Good thing educators are flexible! 😉 Hang in there! You are not alone!!

  4. Amen! Unfortunately, I found myself adding more lines after reading your slice. “AHHHHH, parcc. No parcc. Wait, parcc. Parcc on computers, Parcc on paper.”

Leave a comment