Early Morning Panic

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Why do I feel a breeze?  Is the window open? No… It’s cold in here…The door is open?  Oh, no!  The door is OPEN!!!

When I let the dog out this morning, I must have not shut the door all the way…

Wait…

Where’s the cat?  

The cat?!

This entire scenario played out in silence as the kids slept, unaware of the panic their mom was experiencing.

I ran through the house, looking in every room, under every chair and table.  I was in search of a larger than normal, fluffy, orange cat.   When I didn’t find him, I went through the house again, looking in every crack and crevice, the panic building.

“Troy, wake up.  I think the cat got out.  I need you to help me.”  I said, short of breath, entering a panic attack.  To his credit, my teenage son jumped out of bed and joined me in the search.

No luck.

I brought the litter box outside.  I read once that if your cat gets out, that’s what you should do.

No luck.

I walked around outside, hoping that he would be huddled in a bush.

No luck.

I sent my son upstairs to check on his sister.  At the same time, I googled “inside cat gets out”  which resulted in me bringing a blanket that my husband used and some cat food outside.

No luck.

I rotated between walking around and sitting on the stoop, trying to talk myself down.  Is my husband going to leave my because I lost his cat?  No, the cat will come back.  He has some instincts…  Nope, Ryan’s never going to forgive me…

I moved inside on the stairs, periodically checking out the window for the cat.  As my son brought his sister downstairs, I logged on to put in for a sick day.  There’s no way I could leave.

“Oh.  There he is!”  my son said as the cat ambled down the stairs….

Yep.  He was inside the whole time…

A lost cat, a fruitless search, and a panic attack…all before 6 A.M.

 

 

5 thoughts on “Early Morning Panic”

  1. I can so relate to your panic! My cat Mister actually left home for 2 weeks and 2 days. We tried everything to get him back – left out food, litter, beloved toys – and no Mister. And then one day he just meowed at the back door and walked in as if it was no big deal. I still live in fear of him running out. Glad it worked out for you.

  2. Oh man. A couple of nights ago, I had a similar freak out as my toddler was supposed to go to bed. I thought I lost my wedding ring and was throwing mattresses and furniture on their ends while my son said “Mommy, what are you looking for?”

  3. Wow! As I read, I was hoping beyond hope that you would find him. You definitely built the suspense with the dialogue and the details of the frantic search. I especially loved the end – “A lost cat, a fruitless search, and a panic attack…all before 6 A.M.” Nicely done! Thank you for sharing.

Leave a comment