Tiny Hugs

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

“Where’s Lorelai?” I asked, waiting for my daughter to reveal herself.

She pulled her hands away from her eyes, already excited. “There she is!” I said, for maybe the twentieth time.

With her arms still open wide, she walked closer to me.  I don’t know what I was expecting, but it wasn’t the hug I got.  She wrapped her arms around my neck and squeezed.  A real hug!  In her fifteen months, this was the first real hug I’ve gotten and it came without prompting.  Not a lean or a cuddle because she was sad.  A hug!

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Tiny Hugs”

  1. Love these small moments. Celebrate them, especially here during this month. You will find an incredible support group of parents, women, men, mothers, aunties, grandmothers, etc. that love these story gems.

  2. This is what Slicing is great for–commemorating these special moments. Here’s to many more milestones to come!

Leave a comment