#makingreaders

“Hello?”  I answered my phone, expecting to hear my sister’s voice.

“Aunt Jennie?”  Instead it was a small voice on the other end.  “We think you sent these packages to us.”

“Why would you think that?”

“Because it was Dog Man 3 and you said you would get it for me,”  my nephew replied.

“Well, you’re right.  I sent it.”

“Thank you!”

“And you sent me an Elephant book!”  his brother yelled in the background.

“Yep!  I love Elephant and Piggie!”  I responded.

I sent them each a book from Amazon without a note and without telling their mom.  But, my older nephew knew exactly who had sent it.

I love getting books in the mail!  The only thing better?  Getting this phone call after sending books in the mail!  #makingreaders

10 thoughts on “#makingreaders”

  1. What a delight to send these books anonymously and to receive this precious call from someone who knew exactly where they came from!

  2. Way to go, Aunt Jennie! We have similar taste in kid’s books! Love Dog Man. 🙂

  3. There is nothing like getting books in the mail or getting books from someone you love. When they get older they will always remember their aunt gave them this book, knew their desires and tastes and loved them.

  4. Sweet! Everyone loves to get packages and to have to figure out who it’s from? Those are just bonue “Aunt Jennie” points! Great slice! Thank you for sharing with us!

  5. The children will always remember these gifts and their giver — the magic of books lasts forever, unlike other things. Love the little voice on the other end and the telling through dialogue.

Leave a comment