One smile…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

Day one of PARCC. (Although I do believe that the reverse of the acronym is more accurate…)

I went in to this trying not to stress about things I can’t  control.

I know that a standardized test can’t  show everything these kids have learned already this year.  While I can opt out my son, I have to administer this to my students.

I can just repeat, “Try your best.”  Hoping that taking this test will not reverse all of the confidence building  we have done this year.

Twenty minutes trying to sign in and all of the computers, with the exception of two, are still loading…I can only think, “I must have done something  wrong.  What did I miss?!”  But my mind is blank.

The kids are silently waiting.  “What did I do wrong?” I remember nothing… I can feel everything  crumbling.  The tears are coming. Then, I look at the blond cutie to my left…

She gave me this goofy smile and I couldn’t  help but smile back. 🙂 The tears didn’t  come.  My brain started working.  I went into problem solving  mode and found a solution.

I think she knew I was loosing it…but I don’t  think she could possibly  know how much that goofy smile changed my day?  Sometimes the students become the teacher.  She reminded me of everything I know.

I know that I come to work everyday because of these amazing, intelligent, creative children.

I know that a standardized test can’t  show everything these kids have learned already this year.

3 thoughts on “One smile…”

Leave a comment