I’ll cry when you leave…

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

“Am I your favorite student?  I’m your favorite student, right?”  This is a question I get asked by one spunky third grade girl in my class almost daily.

I usually don’t answer.  Or I reply, “I don’t have favorites.”

One day as we were walking out of school, she asked again.  “Am I your favorite student?  I’m your favorite student, right?” She always says it with this adorable face that she has mastered, being the only girl in a family of five kids.

That particular day I decided on a new response, “Let’s put it this way, Claire…When you leave third grade…I’ll cry.”

Pause…

“But tears of sadness, or tears of joy?!”

Oh, Claire…

9 thoughts on “I’ll cry when you leave…”

  1. Things don’t change! I get this question in MS and I even got it from my seniors. The ones who are my favorites always know because I make sure we stay in contact for years later! I have some still harassing me about it as they deploy, move and get married. Silly kiddos or may adultos for some of mine.

Leave a comment