Happy April Fool’s Day!

This morning, after getting ready, I went to the basement to retrieve my hot glue gun and googly eyes.  I pack my son’s lunch everyday, but since it was April 1st I decided to make it a special lunch.  I was looking over Pinterest last night and found a cute idea to glue googly eyes to everything.  It turned out pretty cute:

Image

I went to school, feeling content that my son would find a surprise in his lunch box.  And then disaster struck around 7:30!  Don’t panic, it was only disaster in the life of an eight year old:  he forgot his backpack in his dad’s car when he got dropped at my grandma’s house.  His dad was already at work.  😦

7:30 a.m.  The phone call with sobbing loud enough for the other teacher in the room to hear.  He didn’t want to go to school without his homework.

“You have to go to school.  Your teacher will be o.k. with you not having your home….”

“Nooooooooo! I can’t go to school!”  followed by more sobbing.

“You are going to school.  I will email your teacher to let her know that…”

Sobbing.

Well, you get the picture.  (If only I could have reached through the phone or teleported there to give him a hug and comfort him!) Eventually he calmed down enough to accept he was going to school without his backpack.  Whew!!!  Email to teacher to explain situation and then finish getting ready for my students to walk in.  What a start to the day.  And it wasn’t even 8:00 yet!

Thankfully Super Dad was able to leave work and get the backpack to school in the morning.  All went well and googly eyes were peeled off and passed on to friends.  Never a dull moment, but I wouldn’t have it any other way!

 

 

2 thoughts on “Happy April Fool’s Day!”

Leave a comment