“Mind candy”

In Donalyn Miller’s book, The Book Whisperer, she refers to books that take little mental strain to read as “mind candy.”  Some days I look up and see a third grader, with a fifth grade reading level, reading Dr. Seuss and wonder if I should go over and have a discussion about “Just Right” books.   Then I watch as he finishes and moves on to a complex text about Earth’s layers. 

I have to remember that sometimes “mind candy” is perfectly appropriate.  After all, didn’t I spend days reading Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum series last summer?  Although candy isn’t good for us all the time, it doesn’t hurt once in a while.  And it is definitely enjoyable!

2 thoughts on ““Mind candy””

  1. I love it! Everything in moderation is just fine. Just because we can do some harder tasks, it doesn’t make the easier ones less enjoyable. 🙂

Leave a comment