I did it.

I did it.  I dropped him off and watched him walk into the movie theater.  Without me. I fought every urge to jump out of the car, scream out the window that I love him, and secretly follow him in the theater.  I let him go.  Without me.204d8f0d-50e5-4db5-a810-f6525a68dc39-fd57e56d-cb49-42ab-ba90-d5d02ebc11ef-v1

Troy and his friends are currently enjoying Ready Player One and I am sitting here trying to distract myself.  I know he’s safe and completely ready for this milestone.  But, he will always be my baby.

2 thoughts on “I did it.”

  1. I love your title – “I did it. After reading your slice, I think you might be trying to convince yourself that you actually went through with the act! Building independence is so important, but no one said it was easy! Good job, mama!

  2. I totally get this feeling. The hardest part about parenting is letting go little by little. And it happens so fast, one day they are learning to read and the next they are going to the theater with their friends. On a lighter note, I hope he liked Ready Player One!

Leave a comment