The Unwanteds

I sat at the table in Starbucks, sipping my coffee and reading.  I able to push the nerves aside because of the story.  I was immersed, occasionally drifting into the real world to check the time.   I was early.

The battle began to unfold in the book and in my mind.  Time.  Five minutes late.

Paint and spells flew.  Time.  Ten minutes late.  He’s not coming, but I can’t leave in the middle of this battle!

Clay balls flying.  Enemies locked in place. “Hi!  Jennifer?”

That’s how it happened.  That’s how a book is the reason I met my fiance.  He was late, something I despise, but I didn’t want to stop reading.  If not reading that book, I would have left at the five minutes late mark and maybe never met the man of my dreams.

P.S. He was late because he got lost, so I have forgiven it.  And we are both incredibly grateful that I was lost in the world of Artimé that day.

index

6 thoughts on “The Unwanteds”

Leave a comment