Yes

A few months ago, we sat on the very broken couch (some would argue so broken it can not be considered a couch).  National Treasure played on the television and Troy had fallen asleep on the ground.

“Can I ask you a question?”

“Okay.”  I replied, ready for him to ask me if he can pick my nose, or some other off the wall question that I have been accustomed to hearing.

“Will you marry me?”

“What?”

“Will you marry me?”

“Yes.”

I think I might have asked multiple times that night if he was serious, doing everything short of pinching myself to make sure I wasn’t dreaming.  Because I had dreamed of this question, this man, for most of life.  He is the kind of man I want my son to grow up to be, the kind I wasn’t sure even existed.

10 thoughts on “Yes”

  1. I love the simplicity of this, both the proposal and the writing. There is an assuredness and confidence in it. There is a saying here in Ghana, “fine beads don’t make noise”. I think it applies here. There is no need for theatrics or pomp and circumstance where you are sure of what you want.

  2. There IS such beauty in the simplicity of the proposal and this post, I agree. I especially love that the reflection at the end, the one where you are convincing yourself that this is real and that it does exist ends with that punch – I wasn’t sure even existed. It’s like you are leaving this sentence and all your doubts behind when you hit Publish.

  3. That’s a great little (BIG!!!) slice right there. That would be just how I would want a proposal from the man I’m with, whom I also have waited my whole life for, and would love my 15 year old son to grow up to be like. It’s wonderful that these men do exist, and that we were lucky enough to find them. Congrats to you!

  4. Such a beautiful post. I’m so glad you found your happily ever after! You so deserve all the happiness in the world. Love and best wishes to you all!

Leave a comment