The Book That Changed Everything

This is the personal narrative that I am working on alongside my students in our first unit.  It’s a work in progress. We’ll be publishing by the end of the week! 

Ring.  Ring.  Ring.   I saw Jackie flash across the screen.  Why is she calling me?  What does she want?  She only calls when she wants something.

“Hello.” I answered.

“Guess what, Jennie?!?!”

“What?”  I was surprised at her excited tone.  What could it be?

“I finished Twilight already!”

“The book?  Didn’t you just start it the other day?”  That couldn’t be right.  She had barely finished a book in her life, let alone one for fun…and only in a few days!

“Yes. I couldn’t stop reading.  I was picturing Bella and Edward in my head as I was reading-  since I knew what they looked like from the trailers.”

“Wow…Wait, you didn’t usually see pictures in your head?  With other books?”

“No.”

That was the first time I truly realized that the reason I loved reading was the movie that was happening in my mind as I read.  Jackie never had that before.  But because of the movie trailers out for Twilight, she saw the “mind movie” and she enjoyed reading.

Because of this realization, visualizing became a much more significant part of my reading instruction.

The book changed everything for Jackie as a reader.    The book changed everything for me as a teacher.  The bheading

7 thoughts on “The Book That Changed Everything”

  1. I love reading and always have picturing what the characters could look like and play the chapters in my heard as I am reading. I think it is awesome your friend was able to get in the movie mind set when reading the book. It truly gives books a better outlook in my opinion and I’m able to connect so much more when i’m visualizing/reading the book.

  2. Great post about the power of visualization and “that book” that changes everything. I also got totally swept up into the Twilight series, and I love getting that feeling when reading other books. Good personal narrative! I love that you are writing along with your students.

  3. Some students have a hard time grasping the concept of “looking” at the story, from their own brain. They don’t know what to do! Visualization techniques and practice can create readers. Thanks for sharing!

  4. I love when we get reminders like this! I had a 6th grader a few years back who finally read a whole book when she picked one that she had already seen as a movie… at first I thought that would annoy her… but I truly believe she felt better being able to remember the movie while she read!

  5. I like how you are writing alongside your students. I’m doing the same this week with my seventh and eighth graders. We all have a first draft memoir due Monday. Thanks for this post… very interesting insight into how some readers don’t naturally visualize.

  6. Writing alongside your students is a good way to keep oneself going. The excitement for reading and the joy of finding a good book came through clearly in this slice. I felt happy reading this.

Leave a Reply

