SOL #13 – “It didn’t go as planned.”

The mid-month slump is here and I’m out of ideas.   It always seems to happen around this time and results in procrastination.  Lots of procrastination.  Dinner.  Dishes.  Netflix.  I started reading and commenting on student blogs.

One of my talented writers wrote a post about wet grass.  In it she wrote, “It didn’t go as planned.”  And that got me thinking…so many things have not gone as planned. In my life.  In each day of teaching.

Now I have a list of slices.  Being a teen mom.  The discussion on women’s rights on Friday.   A read aloud.  Losing at Monopoly. So, today’s slice is about not having ideas and finding inspiration in my student.  But, I also have a list of other ideas in my notebook ready for the upcoming week.

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “SOL #13 – “It didn’t go as planned.””

  1. Isn’t it wonderful that we can find inspiration in so many places? A student inspired my slice tonight as well. Now, I’m going to consider how your student’s phrase could spark some ideas for me!

  2. It always pleases me when I get inspiration from a student. Glad you were able to make a list. Being a teen mom is a good one. I have two teen boys (and one more that’s an adult). The wet grass sounds interesting.

  3. Wet grass is quite intriguing. I would love to read it. I have been inspired by student work so much this month. The idea of having a list at the ready is such a great, simple idea. I did that last year and totally forgot for this year. Thanks for sharing.

  4. When I told my students that I was having a slump too about what to write about for the last few days, they said do what we do – write about how you don’t know what to write about. You pulled it off!

Leave a Reply

