Monopoly

Next year will bring a new adventure for me – I am moving on up to fifth grade.  This 51RYe58cBjL._SX258_BO1,204,203,200_.jpgmeans a new curriculum, a new developmental age, and a new group of writers.  In preparation, I started reading Write Like This by Kelly Gallagher.

After the first chapter, the chapters are organized by purpose.  Already, I am trying to figure out how I can blend this with Lucy and my Writing Workshop.

Chapter 2 is focused on Express and Reflect and it is filled with so many great strategies to teach the kids.  I can’t wait to use them during the first month of workshop in August/September:  Bucket List, Neighborhood Spot, Family Photo…

The one that got me writing in my notebook:  Childhood Game.  Gallagher suggests that writers make a list of childhood games and then choose one to write about that “Taught you something  beyond the game itself.”

Screenshot_2016-06-08-21-44-45.png

Here is my draft:

I loved playing Monopoly, but I was never any good until I learned what the word monopoly means – one person owns everything.  Then, I crushed it.

If I landed on it, I bought it (even if that meant mortgaging my properties).  It payed off in the long run. I’ve only lost one time since that realization.

Looking back on it – Monopoly taught me that you can only win if you go all in. You have to put everything you have into something – 120% if you want to come out on top.  No playing it safe.  It gets scary, but don’t give up until you’ve got nothing left.  That ca$h will come rolling in!

Leave a Reply

