Win!

My co-teacher, Christina, is a competitive person.  She likes to win!  (How have the two of us, both very controlling, made it this far into the year without killing each other?)

FoxInSocksBookCover

Yesterday, she was subbing in another room.  The kids and I started trying to read Fox in Socks without making a mistake…not as easy as they thought.  I got to page 12 and most of the brave souls who tried got to 7.  One young reader tied me and stumbled on page 12. 

Today a few students wanted to try before we started our read aloud.  When I explained that we did this yesterday, her hand automatically went out for the book.  She NEEDED to get past page 12.  I knew it, and reluctantly handed over the book.  I did not want her to beat my page, but she just might…

Fox

Socks

Knox

Box

Anxiety built in my stomach…page 5…6..7…8…9…10…11…12

YES! She messed up on page 12…on the same word as I did!  I’m pretty sure I jumped up and down in excitement.  She, however, was not excited that we tied.  And that is why I win!

6 thoughts on “Win!”

  1. You are lucky to have such an awesome relationship with your teaching partner. I had that at my previous district and I truly miss it. We were better together. Thanks for your uplifting post!

  2. I love these hilarious co-teaching moments! I co-taught for 5 years in a 3rd grade classroom—(We used to do all sorts of competitions during morning meeting!)

Leave a Reply

