What’s Cooking?

11454297503_e27946e4ff_h

CRASH!

“It’s fine!”  he tells me – knowing which question is coming.

My ten year old has been binge watching a variety of cooking shows on Netflix. Feeling inspired, he decided he is going to make something for me…I’m always the taste tester for his concoctions, I mean…meals.  As he told me, “I don’t really like to try my food.”

Blender whirs.  Drawers open and close.  Time passes and I’m trying not to pay attention to the sounds in the kitchen.

“I hope this isn’t too much vanilla,”  I hear him mutter to himself.

I sit on the couch, trying not to cringe.  “Not a lot of spice.  Just some spice,”  he says to himself.  “You like spicy, right?”  He asks, shouting from the kitchen.

CRASH!  BANG!  CLANG!

“Nothing broke!”  he assures me.  “Whoa!  That scared me.” he remarked.

How did it turn out you ask?  What did I have to eat with out cringing?  That my friends, is a slice for another day…

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “What’s Cooking?”

  1. Vanilla and spice huh? I can’t wait to find out what it was! I love that your son is embracing cooking. My nephew recently informed me that he was going to open up his own restaurant that would serve meat. I’m working on getting him to explore some other food options as well! Fingers crossed.

  2. Ha! I love that he yelled, “Nothing broke”! Those cooking shows can really light a spark under a wanna-be cook. Usually I fight off the urge to try something before I actually make it to the kitchen so I really admire your son for his follow through. Can’t wait to read about the outcome.

Leave a Reply

