Note to Self: Bring Bug Spray!

One of the other teachers here, at the Illinois Writing Project Workshop, wrote about how she was distracted by something and couldn’t get past it to write.  She was so right!  (Thanks Anne!  I hope everyone realizes that whatever you say in the presence of a blogger, might end up on her blog.)20150716_100054

Sometimes you get that one thing that annoys you, distracts you and you can’t get to a place where you can focus on the writing.  Unfortunately, it’s probably going to happen in our classrooms no matter how we try to control the environment.  There will be pencils tapping, kids whispering, teachers conferring.

So, maybe we need to teach kids how to move past it.  How to deal…Easier said than done…

One option is to write about that thing that is taking up all your focus. Then, once it is on paper, maybe it will leave your mind.  It worked for me during an amazing writing marathon last week.  The bugs were swarming because of the rain and it was all I could think about, so that is what I wrote about.  Once I had it on paper, I moved on to write about something else.  (Of course, bringing bug spray would have made this a non-issue!)

I know this idea won’t always work so, I would love to hear any ideas you have for helping kids get past the distractions during writing workshop.  What do you have?  Please share!

4 thoughts on “Note to Self: Bring Bug Spray!”

  1. YES! I’ve been thinking about this A LOT lately because I want to help my students focus better on their work. I believe it’s my role to make my classroom as free from distraction as possible and am planning to do things like play soft, wordless music (to help them feel calm), run fans for white noise (to down out sounds), offer comfy places to sit, use lamps instead of that annoying florescent overhead light we all hate. I’m also using calming colors and keeping my walls intentionally bare in areas so there isn’t too much distraction.

  2. Oh. my. goodness. Yes. Sometimes my blog starts out like this…. I have writers block and don’t know what to write about, and every day this happens and every day…. and eventually it turns into something productive. Sometimes I go back and delete. Sometimes my poor friends have to slog through that muck! lol

Leave a Reply

