Vanilla Flavored Days

Screen Shot 2015-05-26 at 11.58.24 AM

Since signing up for eHarmony, I have noticed there are A TON of single people out there and MOST of those people are passionate about travel and learning about new cultures.  It isn’t that I don’t enjoy traveling to new places.  New cultures are very interesting and I love learning about them.  But…I don’t feel wanderlust.  One vacation a year is plenty.

mundanceI love the mundane, ordinary, vanilla flavored days.  Spending two hours watching my kid jump of a diving board, swim to the end, and repeat.   Rides to the park.  Trips to the store that end up costing more than they should.  Blogging on the couch while my creative genius builds with his Legos.  These days never get old.  I love every minute of these vanilla flavored days.

I have a life that I don’t need a vacation from.  Maybe I don’t have an adventurous heart.  Maybe I get enough travel through the books I read.  Or maybe teaching and parenting are filled with enough unexpected challenges, I don’t need to look for more.  Whatever the reason, I love these ordinary days!

10 thoughts on “Vanilla Flavored Days”

  1. Vanilla is one of my favorite flavors. The older I get, the more I “think” about traveling. Not that I have done it!
    Alyce

  2. I, too, enjoy the mundane… or at least that’s what I tell myself because I’m too poor to travel! I really do wish I could see more of the world because I genuinely enjoy learning about other cultures. I remember when I was doing the online dating thing and would see that on so many pages… but then you talk to people and realize they’re not very open-minded in real life… so how interested are they really?

  3. I love the mundane and that my job allows me to spend more time with my kids! I laughed at your vanilla description of ordinary because while a vanilla cupcake might be the most plain, the scent of vanilla candles is (in my humble opinion) exquisite and divine. There are certain buzz words on all dating sites it seems, loves to travel, seems to be one. Let’s see, how about “I like to take long walks….” that is one of my faves! 🙂

Leave a Reply

