On Your Mark (Post 2/3)

51OZzdoRMlL._SY344_BO1,204,203,200_      I started my reflections on this book here and I will continue below…sharing my notes and my thoughts.  To be honest, after the first three chapters, my thoughts are just extensions of earlier thoughts.  The first few chapters of this book required me to change the way I was thinking about grading and reporting.  However, once my thinking shifted, everything else was kind of like…DUH!  Of course this makes sense.

20150517_200053

20150517_20014220150517_200155 (1)

     Reporting student growth on standards has been happening in the primary grades in my district forever.  Third through fifth grade reports standards and a letter grade for each subject.   There isn’t a huge change required for us to make the move to standards based grading and reporting, because that is what we have been doing.   However grades K-5 are only a few of

     One of the points made in the book is that parents like the more detailed profile that standards based reporting will bring, however I still worry.  Letter grades are what we know.  Kids get a free movie for each A they receive (if you have a rare movie rental store near).  Parents grew up with letter grades.   I feel like one of the unmentioned, but very important needs that will come with this shift is the education of parents.  Without a doubt, parents will receive more detailed information about what their child can do and needs to be able to do.  However, the need for educating parents can not be overlooked or under-emphasized.

Education is a shared commitment between dedicated teachers, motivated students and enthusiastic parents with high expectations.
–  Bob Beauprez

Leave a Reply

