Sisters

My mom is moving to Florida and my sister threw her a surprise party today.  (I still have doubts that she will stay permanently, but only time will tell.)  However, the big surprise was that her little sister came in from Wyoming.

When my mom saw her sister, she screamed hugged her, cried, and didn’t let go.  She just kept repeating, “I love you so much!”  It has been three years since they have seen each other.  I can’t imagine going years without seeing my sisters and so tonight I would like to write them a letter.

20150304_170302
I’m in the middle.

Dear Little Sisters,

You are, and always have been, a pain in my behind.  You copied me, teased me, annoyed me.  All for the fun of it.  But, I know that I have told you a fair share of stories (that you may call lies).  I do not apologize for my stories, they were fun!

I know that sometimes we talk and see each other more, and other times less.  However, I promise that no matter what is going on in my life, I will not let three years pass.  I will never be that excited to see you, because I will never go that long not seeing you.

Every time we would argue, Ma would tell us, “You girls need to get along.  One day you will only have each other.”  And of course, she is right.  She is always right.  So, I promise that no matter what arguments we have, I will always be there when you need me…whether you want me there or not.

I love you two!

Your Older Sis

7 thoughts on “Sisters”

  1. This is so nice! I have 2 sisters and a brother, and I cannot imagine going that long without talking to them or seeing them. I’m glad your mom reconnected with her sister. And I’m glad this made you appreciate the bond you have with YOUR sisters. 🙂

  2. This made me cry! I have just one younger sister, who I love more than I can explain. She lives far away – and is finishing school…and we do go months without seeing each other. We are at such different phases of our lives, but I know that we will always have each other – and I hope she knows I’m always here for her!

  3. Three years is a long time. I am so happy your mom got to see her sister. And what a thoughtful idea to write your own sisters a letter. I only have one sibling, a brother, and we once went six years without seeing each other. It was a true heartbreak for me.

Leave a Reply

