The Book Remembers When

Major life changes always lead me to reminisce.  So, today I was thinking about a Trisha Yearwood song from my first CD ever: The Song Remembers When.  I was reorganizing and cleaning, looking through books.  Yes, songs bring back memories, but books do too.  Hence, tonight’s post…The Book Remembers When…

When...I read this book so many times as a kid, the book is falling apart.
When…I read this book so many times as a kid, the book is falling apart.
When...my maternal grandparents only had a few books including this one:  Amos and Boris.  On a side note, every children's book they did have had a stamp marking it the property of a school or public library.  They fees they must have paid...
When…my maternal grandparents only had a few books including this one: Amos and Boris. On a side note, every children’s book they did have had a stamp marking it the property of a school or public library. They fees they must have paid…
Screen Shot 2014-12-28 at 6.58.48 PM
When… my mom came to class to read this book. She skipped some of the pages and, of course, I corrected her. Yep, I was that kid.
When...My son learned to count to ten with this book.
When…My son learned to count to ten with this book.
When...my son and I sat and searched through the pages in these books.  Over and over again, day after day.
When…my son and I sat and searched through the pages in these books. Over and over again, day after day.
When...I read this book as my son sat on the toilet as a three year old.  I lovingly refer to this as "the Poop Book."
When…I read this book as my son sat on the toilet as a three year old. I lovingly refer to this as “the Poop Book.”

So many memories, from my childhood and my son’s childhood.  For me, these books are almost like pictures or home movies.  I can’t ever let them go…I am proud to be a book hoarder.

2 thoughts on “The Book Remembers When”

Leave a Reply

