If I could take my students anywhere…

Today’s topic for Big Time Literacy’s July Blogging Challenge is….If money were no object, what experiences would you give your students?

When Michelle first showed me the topics, this one immediately became my favorite!

This last year we studied many different continents and countries in Social Studies.  We started with a study of Canada.  The kids were so interested in this country that was so close, yet they knew almost nothing about.  One of their favorite parts was Niagara Falls.  One girls asked me if I would take them to Niagra Falls for a field trip.  I said, “If I ever win the lottery, I will take the whole class!”  And that became the question…

We were studying Mexico…  “Ms. Bless, if you win the lottery, will you take us on a field trip to Mexico?”

Studying U.S.A… “Ms. Bless, if you win the lottery, will you take us on a field trip to the Grand Canyon?”

Studying South America…”Ms. Bless, if you win the lottery, will you take us on a field trip to the Galapagos Islands?”

With this post I have to decide where I would want decide to take the kids if this day every really came.  After my family’s road trip this summer, I would have to say it would definitely be a road trip  across our beautiful country.

20140709_114804

I would rent a bus and take them west through Wyoming, Montana, and South Dakota. We would be able to learn about landforms, plants, history, and more!  We would visit Mount Rushmore, the Crazy Horse Memorial, do some hiking, see some animals up close…

20140715_094247

 

20140715_113931

 

20140713_143634
FYI I do not know the lady that got out of her car and way to close to this elk!

I really need to start playing the lottery!

2 thoughts on “If I could take my students anywhere…”

  1. “I really need to start playing the lottery!” Love it. I loved your post. There are so many breathtaking sights in the good ole USA. It would be so neat to expose our students to them through hands-on experiences, wouldn’t it?

  2. What great conversations with your students. They knew you loved them–to spend your lottery winnings on them. That’s awesome!
    Alyce

Leave a Reply

