Reading where?!?!

     Think for a second about the rooms in the house that your husband and children spend the most time. If you aren’t at that point yet, think about your dad or your brother…  Was the bathroom on that list?
     According to Jim Trelease, author of The Reading Handbook, people spend A LOT of time in the bathroom. I dont have the exact quote because the book is at school for the summer,  but I know it is a significant amount.
     So why am I mentioning this? Because Jim suggests that you put book baskets in the bathrooms.  After reading this and thinking about it a few years ago, I realized how much sense this makes. Take a look at our bathroom books…

image
My son's bathroom
image
Downstairs bathroom

For other interesting reading information and tips, I encourage all parents and teachers to read the book or at least check out his website.

image

This has me thinking about the time kids spend in the bathroom at school. Maybe we should start using the space on the stall doors for reading material?!?!

6 thoughts on “Reading where?!?!”

  1. I am cracking up at this post! My friend and I were just talking about putting in some kind of “weekly reader” in the bathrooms at school so that kids aren’t wasting time in there!

  2. I LOVE this, I LOVE The Read Aloud Handbook. My summer to-do list is now going to include material for the bathrooms at school. Thanks for the reminder. (Our main bathroom at home is cluttered with ESPN News and Sports Illustrated, I wish it was neater, but now I will embrace it with thoughts of continual literacy.) Thanks for the great post!
    Alyce

  3. This is awesome!! I always think about this and always take notice of people who have stocked bathrooms! I should start to make a list. Our bathroom is Teeny Tiny so I either need to find the perfect space-saving shelf or have a list ready for when we finally move some place that has a slightly bigger bathroom!

  4. Why yes, I have a drawer dedicated to magazines and books. And said room is often referred to as the meditation room. So I started keeping a daily meditation book in the drawer too.

Leave a Reply

