Letters to Teachers

20140705_091332

 

This past year we required students to write letters to us about about a book they read or are reading every Friday. Students were able to think about what they were reading and put it into words. You can see our directions, sentence stems, example letter and templates at my TPT Store.  Some students wrote about a picture book each weekend while others wrote about the chapter book they were reading over several weeks.  One girl wrote about the Percy Jackson book series she was reading with her family.  Her letters made me want to read the books and so I put it on my Someday List – so far I finished the first one and loved it.

The most challenging part was definitely writing each of them back.  Even if my co-teacher and I split the letters, it was still 13-14 per week.  However, students applied what they were learning in reading as well as our feedback to their letters.  This is an assignment that we will continue to use with a slight modification.  We have plans for students to blog their responses by mid-year and then in March participate in the Slice of Life Classroom Challenge.

 

3 thoughts on “Letters to Teachers”

  1. That is a great idea. Purposeful writing! I wonder how I could incorporate that idea next year… Definitely something to think about. Thank you for sharing this idea.
    Alyce

  2. I could see how responding to all of the students could get a bit overwhelming, but it sounds like you have a plan in mind to address that. 😉 My goal is to have the students in my intervention groups start blogging their responses to the texts we read this upcoming school year. Blogging with students will be another new adventure for me. It seems as if I have a possible mentor to refer back to? Nice post, Jennie! 😉

  3. This was one thing that I loved and hated – loved because it made their thinking get so much more deep and hated because it takes FOREVER to write back to them…it’s totally worth all the work though! 🙂 Your kiddos are lucky to have you and your fab co-teacher! Can’t wait for the superhero theme and that phone booth!

Leave a Reply

