The Teacher’s Funeral

A Teacher's Funeral

No, you aren’t supposed to judge a book by it’s cover, but we all do it sometimes.  I was looking for a book for my son and this title caught my eye.  I’m a teacher.  How could a teacher’s funeral be a comedy?  I read the first paragraph and decided to check it out.

Here’s the first paragraph:

If your teacher has to die, August isn’t a bad time of year for it.  You know August.  The corn is earring.  The tomatoes are ripening on the vine.  The clover’s in full bloom.  There’s a little less evening now, and that’s a warning.  You want to live every day twice over because you’ll be back in the jailhouse of school before the end of the month.

It isn’t the best book I’ve ever read, but it was a fun read.  Because it took place in the early 1900s, it took a few chapters to get my brain into the time period.  If you enjoy historical fiction children’s books and have strong feelings about school (positive or negative) this book might interest you.  However, what interests me is the books that you have read as a result of the cover.  What book did you pick up solely because of the cover?

4 thoughts on “The Teacher’s Funeral”

  1. All of them. I am horrible about picking up children’s books solely by the cover. I don’t always buy them all, but I certainly am biased when it comes to a good cover. I guess I always wanted to be an illustrator. 🙂

  2. Wow, that book seems interesting! At the end of the school year one of my colleagues gave me the book, “Water for Elephants.” Honestly, I am not a big animal lover so I really wasn’t interested. But as I began to read, I couldn’t put it down. I got connected to the main character and absolutely loved it!

    1. water for elephants is awesome! did you see the movie? Don’t do it till after you finish the book though! 🙂

  3. I have heard about this book but I haven’t read it yet! I will have to read it–I totally judge books by their cover (honestly, who doesn’t?!) but I like to give all books a chance if they come highly recommended. Two of my favorite “not-so-engaging-covers-but-AMAZING-books” are The Phantom Tollbooth and The Boy in the Alamo. My kids love both (and since we are in Texas, the second one is an awesome way of teaching that part of our state history!)

Leave a Reply

