Reading in the Wild

Image

I loved The Book Whisperer so, I stole our literacy coach’s copy of Reading in the Wild to read over spring break.  I am only at chapter 2 and already have found so many great ideas, quotes and inspirations….

Book to add to my Someday Book List: The Poisoner’s Handbook by Deborah Blum.

“If a seed of lettuce will not grow, we do not blame the lettuce.  Instead, the fault lies with us for not having nourished the seed properly.”  (xv)  It is unfortunate that this can be applied to education, but I hear two many teachers talking about how a student can’t learn something.  It is a discussion I have had multiple times with our literacy coach (bigtimeliteracy.blogspot.com).  It is our job to figure out how to make the seed grow – to find how the child will learn.

Mini-lesson ideas for the beginning of the year.  Reading Emergencies – identifying times over the weekend that you could have read if you had a book. (14-15)  This would go along with “Stealing Time to Read” that I read about in The Book Whisperer.  And a reading itinerary where the students  track their reading time and location for a week in order to reflect on their reading habits.  (18-19)

I can’t wait to keep reading!  On a related note, we received an email from a parent over spring break to let us know that they discovered a book series that her daughter has been enjoying reading this week.  Success!

6 thoughts on “Reading in the Wild”

  1. Moving this one into the spring break pile…only nine days away! I love those moments of success with student readers and their families. Congrats!

  2. I loved that quote about the lettuce seed too. I meant to blog about it one day but then I think I forgot. But, that pin you sent me made it on my blog yesterday! Thank you!
    and awesome about the email from the parent! those moments reaffirm all our work! 🙂

Leave a Reply

