How often does a book affect your meal choices?

I listen to books on my commute to and from work and I’m currently listening to a Nora Roberts book- great “mind candy.”  The characters were talking about eating pancakes for breakfast and so I decided we would have pancakes for dinner.  (Brinner, breakfast for dinner, as one of my friends says.)  That got me thinking of the amount of coffee cake I was eating while I read Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum novels.  It was way more than any other time in my life.  So, I guess the point of this revelation is that I become so involved in books that I begin to plan meals based on them and therefore need to change my reading habits in order to change my eating habits.  I need to find a book where the characters work out and eat only fruits and veggies and then maybe I will have some more success on the dieting front!  Any suggestions?  😉

 

4 thoughts on “How often does a book affect your meal choices?”

  1. Watership Down! You can eat all the leaves and grass you want. I enjoyed this post. I always listen to a book in the car and I have never considered this. I’m listening to Meg Wohlitzer’s “The Interestings” right now and I am now wondering if I do the same thing. Or if I’ll jet be more aware of the food.

  2. Hilarious! I hear what you are saying about needing a book where the characters work out and eat right! However, part of the pleasure of the book for me is the sinful foods because I can relate. I just “relate” too much. I like the Kinsey Milhone A-Z mystery series by Sue Grafton.

  3. This is great! I never even thought about it. I have a tendency to mainline candy when I am in a good book- regardless of the subject. Suckers, hard candy, gum… absent minded candy to be more precise. This is so neat to think about!

  4. Philip Craig (with middle initial that I can’t remember) wrote Vineyard mysteries. I was fascinated by those books. Setting at Martha’s Vineyard, mystery, little romance and a man that cooks while solving mysteries! Sorry, I don’t know any fun books that would talk about eating healthy:)

Leave a Reply

